My Curls

I miss my curls

the unpredictability of every strand of my hair

how each one finds its own convoluted path from wet to dry

I miss the fact that even though every strand has a personality of it’s own and is usually very stubborn

they somehow manage to collectively form a beautiful arrangement each time, as if it were carefully designed from the start

I miss the playfulness in which it interacts with the world…always ready to bounce

and how it responds to the calling of the wind

and humidity

It breaks my heart to tame their wildness

suppress their passion

trim their ruggedness

it breaks my heart to force my strands to conform to one shape

one dull, lifeless, boring shape…no matter how soft and shiny

and why would they comply?

when they can find union autonomously

Leave a comment